Different Stuff Here and There

Around February 25, I came across a ReTweet by Sega involving a contest they and a partner were holding for a Dreamcast Collect Fan Fav Prize Package. Two grand prize winners would receive one Dreamcast Limited Edition Vinyl Record, one Dreamcast hoodie and one Dreamcast Collection for the Xbox 360 each. The runner-up prize winner would receive a Dreamcast hoodie. The rules were simple; you were allowed to enter daily and had to leave a comment on their post saying your favorite Dreamcast and favorite memory involving said game or the Dreamcast itself. I honestly didn’t think much of it and figured I wasn’t going to win a main prize, but I still entered anyway. I posted my thoughts and forgot about the contest afterward. This is my entry:

My fondest memories with the Dreamcast involve the day I actually got a hold of one and all of the hours I spent toiling away on Phantasy Star Online. It was my first disc-based console and the last Sega console I would ever get a hold of as it was still active. During that time, it also introduced me to online gaming with Phantasy Star Online. I would come home after school and immediately begin to log several hours online, playing with complete strangers, leveling up our characters and collecting all sorts of rare items. I collected about 18 pages worth of Guild Cards from people I interacted with through the whole time the servers were up. I played up until the very end, when the servers were being shut down in the US. To this day, I have the very same save file and character I played with all those years ago. I’ve lost contact with a lot of the people I played with, but I still kept their Guild Cards as a memento of the friendships I had and a reminder of one of the best gaming experiences I ever had.

The Dreamcast was truly the last gaming system with gamers in mind and its library of games truly proved that it was a wonderful system.

Jump ahead to April 7, I notice a Tweet towards me with the following:

@Tsukento hey, ur the runner-up in the @buzzfocus Dreamcast fan fav giveaway follow @buzzfocus so they can send claim deets. 7 days to claim

As I had entered in February and didn’t hear anything until April, I was confused as to what exactly it was I had won in the first place. Quick Google search took me to the page I entered in. Needless to say, I was rather giddy about winning. Even though I won runner-up, it was still the best for me. I don’t have my own Xbox 360 anymore, so the game would go to waste. And I obviously don’t have a vinyl record player and there were very few music choices added in, so that was also useless to me. Thankfully, the real prize was that hoodie. It felt great having not only won a contest, but to win something I had previous lost out on getting.

I missed out on two previous chances of getting the hoodie via another contest and Sega’s own Free Stuff Friday giveaway on Twitter. Thankfully, I was also able to choose a preferred size. Lord knows how many contests these companies run, only to have Neckbeard Extra Large as the only available size. Went with Medium and it fits like a charm. Here are the pics:

Aside from that, I managed to pick up a few things here and there this past month. I got myself…

-Gintama manga Vol. 1 and 2
-Bakuman manga Vol. 2
-One Piece manga Vol. 15 (stupid me, I forgot I had this and the volume after)
-Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles for the NES
-Bionic Commando for the NES
-Dragon Quest IX
-Tales of the Abyss
-Sakura Wars: So Long My Love
-Amnesia (gifted to me by a friend on Steam who had an extra copy)
-BIT.TRIP.BEAT (gifted to me by someone on Steam who had an extra copy)

So I’m pretty much covered in keeping myself entertained in several aspects. And in regards to games, if anyone wants to play some Team Fortress 2, Left 4 Dead/Left 4 Dead 2 or even some Pokemon (whether it be 4th or 5th Gen), feel free to me up. πŸ™‚

4 comments on “Different Stuff Here and There

  1. hey hello..
    do u have extra copy of team fortress games or cs :source?
    i have extra copy of super meat boy of steam if u need 1 πŸ™‚

  2. hey hello..
    do u have extra copy of team fortress games or cs :source?
    i have extra copy of super meat boy of steam if u need 1 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

