I love Steam + Special Thanks

I really do love Steam.  I love that it’s free to use, doesn’t charge me to play online multiplayer (not counting games with their own fees, like MMOs), lets me get together in group voice chat without charging any fees and that it provides mid-week/weekend/holiday sales that beat the hell out of shopping at retail stores or even other digital distribution services.

When my Xbox 360 was alive, I had to pay to be able to stream Netflix. I had to pay to play games only (save for Final Fantasy XI). I had to pay in order to access deals that ended up being merely 10% discounts off DLC or 50% off of games I had no interest in or were already cheap to begin with. I had to pay to be able to participate in a group chat. If I was checking my messages through Xbox Live’s site while away from my 360, I had to pay in order to respond to them on the site.

I own a total of 76 games on Steam. Out of those 76, only a handful of them were obtained at regular price, from another source or were free.

  • Alien Swarm – Given away free by Valve to all Steam users
  • Half-Life 2 – My very first Steam game gifted to me by a friend who had an extra copy
  • Half-Life 2 Episode 1 – Same thing as above
  • Left 4 Dead – Bought at Best Buy for $20 before the official price drop
  • Left 4 Dead 2 – Bought at $30 from Amazon shortly after it was released on Black Friday
  • Plants vs Zombies – Gifted to me as an early X-mas gift a day before the current sale
  • Recettear: An Item Shop’s Tale – Also gifted to me, but as a birthday present
  • Sam & Max Season 1, Episode 4: Abe Lincoln Must Die! – Given away for free by Telltale Games
  • Sega Genesis Classics – Won the download code from the Sega forums
  • Super Meat Boy – Same case as PvZ

With that in mind, everything else was obtained at a massive discount during sales. I bought Team Fortress 2 during its Scout Update last year for $10. On Halloween, they practically gave the game away for $2.50. Tales of Monkey Island’s complete pack was $5 a couple of months ago, with a regular price of $35.  Borderlands has appeared every now and then for $10. What other service gives you recent games for such ridiculous prices? And that, is why I love Steam.

With that out of the way, I want to give my thanks to a few people.  I wanna thank my good buddy on Steam, PLD_Danny1989, for being an overall cool guy to talk to and major thanks for gifting me Recettear on my birthday, as well as gifting me Plants vs Zombies and Super Meat Boy. Also wanna thank Eric Nordgren for getting me a Minecraft gift code. Really appreciate the games, guys. Also a very big thanks to everyone that’s talked with me and helped me out within this past year. You guys are especially amazing people and I honestly don’t know how I could have gotten through the year without you all. I’d keep listing names, but that’d just drag out this post. If I’ve gotta point out to you if it applies to you, I may have to beat you with a stick. Just kiddin’.

Maybe.

PLD_Danny1989

One comment on “I love Steam + Special Thanks

  1. I also enjoy Steam as well. I just picked up Team Fortress Classic for $2.50 and Super Meat Boy for $3.75 yesterday and am enjoying Super Meat Boy a lot. I cannot wait to see the other sales that Steam will have today.

Leave a Reply

